Skip to main content

Parliamentary debates and questions

S5W-18163: Liz Smith (Mid Scotland and Fife)

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Date lodged: 10 August 2018

To ask the Scottish Government whether it will reform the structure of National 4 and National 5 qualifications.

Answered by: John Swinney 29 August 2018

National 4 and National 5 are robust qualifications that accurately reflect the achievement of learners at the appropriate SCQF level. No changes to the structure of National 4 or National 5 are being considered at this time.

This is the first year in which young people have not undertaken mandatory unit assessments at National 5. The decision to remove unit assessments followed representations from the education system to reduce workload for teachers and young people alike, freeing teachers to teach. These changes were discussed and agreed by the Assessment and National Qualifications Group and Curriculum for Excellence Management Board.

The Curriculum and Assessment Board has been taking forward the review of National 4. It has concluded that rather than change the qualification itself, the collective efforts of all involved in the education system should focus on enhancing National 4’s status as a credible pathway through the Senior Phase.