Skip to main content

Parliamentary debates and questions

S5W-16136: Bill Kidd (Glasgow Anniesland)

Scottish National Party

Date lodged: 23 April 2018

To ask the Scottish Government what changes to parliamentary liaison officers have been made; to which ministers, and what their responsibilities are.

Answered by: Joe FitzPatrick 24 April 2018

The First Minister has made changes to the appointed parliamentary liaison officers (PLOs), the revised list is set out in the following table. The role of PLOs is to assist in developing and maintaining a positive and constructive relationship between the Scottish Parliament and the Scottish Government and to take account of the views of the Parliament and of Scotland as a whole. PLOs are unpaid, are not members of the government and are not, therefore, bound by collective responsibility.

Parliamentary Liaison Officer


Ben Macpherson MSP

Gail Ross MSP

Office of the First Minister

Mairi Evans MSP

Communities, Social Security and Equalities

Tom Arthur MSP

Culture, Tourism and External Affairs

Ivan McKee MSP

Economy, Jobs and Fair Work

Jenny Gilruth MSP

Education and Skills

Gillian Martin MSP

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform

Kate Forbes MSP

Finance and Constitution

Fulton MacGregor MSP

Health and Sport

Emma Harper MSP

Rural Economy and Connectivity

Fulton MacGregor MSP