Skip to main content

Parliamentary debates and questions

S5W-09694: Maurice Golden (West Scotland)

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Date lodged: 15 June 2017

To ask the Scottish Government who the members are of the Cabinet Subcommittee on Climate Change; how often the subcommittee meets; whether it will publish the (a) minutes and (b) action points of the subcommittee's meetings; what the subcommittee's priorities are for 2017-18, and how the subcommittee (i) has influenced and (ii) will influence the (A) Climate Change Plan and (B) Energy Strategy.

Answered by: Roseanna Cunningham 29 June 2017

Current members of the Cabinet Sub-Committee on Climate Change are: Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform (Chair); Cabinet Secretary for the Rural Economy and Connectivity; Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Constitution; Cabinet Secretary for Economy, Jobs and Fair Work; Cabinet Secretary for Communities, Social Security and Justice; Minister for Transport and the Islands; Minister for Business, Innovation and Energy; and Minister for Local Government and Housing.

Meetings are held at the discretion of the Chair. In order to provide for the free and frank exchange of views between Ministers and also in line with the principle of collective responsibility, papers of the Cabinet Sub-Committee are not disclosed. The Cabinet Sub-Committee was involved in the development and production of the draft Climate Change Plan, which included consideration of the relationship between the draft Plan and Energy Strategy. Priorities for 2017-18 will be informed by the Cabinet Sub-Committee’s remit which includes agreeing the package of policies and proposals for inclusion in the final Climate Change Plan, and overseeing delivery.