Skip to main content

Parliamentary debates and questions

S5W-07146: Iain Gray (East Lothian)

Scottish Labour

Date lodged: 10 February 2017

To ask the Scottish Government who the members are of the Teacher Workforce Planning Working Group; how often the working group meets, whether it will publish minutes of each of the group's meetings since January 2015, and what the running costs of the group are.

Answered by: John Swinney 24 February 2017

The group has no running costs.

There are no plans to publish TWP Advisory Group minutes. The group provides free and frank advice to Scottish Ministers on the requirements for newly qualified teachers. The advice of the group contributes to Scottish Ministers' annual guidance to SFC on initial teacher education. Scottish Ministers' guidance to SFC for 2016 is available at:

In 2016, the TWP Advisory Group met on 27 October and 15 December. Prior to 2016, in recent years the group met once a year in December.



Rowena Arshad

Universities Scotland

Michael Boyle

Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES)

Kathy Cameron

Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)

Elaine Cook


Greg Dempster

Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland (AHDS)

David Drysdale

Education Scotland

Elizabeth Horsburgh

Scottish Funding Council (SFC)

Sarah Kirkpatrick


David Lott

Universities Scotland

Ken Muir

General Teaching council for Scotland (GTCS)

Morag Redford

Universities Scotland

John Stodter


Jim Thewliss

School Leaders Scotland

Louise Wilson

Teachers Panel

Stuart Robb (Chair)

Scottish Government

Stephanie Walsh

Scottish Government

Elisabeth Boyling

Scottish Government

Ann Hunter

Scottish Government

The membership of the Teacher Workforce Planning (TWP) Advisory Group is as follows: