This is a new website that we're testing. Please give us some feedback on our external survey.

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Get involved

Commercial Sexual Exploitation

This Cross-party group's purpose:

We understand CSE to be a function of gender inequality, and a form of gender-based violence. We work to the Scottish Government’s National Violence Against Women and Girls Approach, Equally Safe, and their definition of Violence Against Women, which includes prostitution, pornography, trafficking, lap-dancing, stripping, pole-dancing and table-dancing as forms of commercial sexual exploitation. We believe that these activities have been shown to be harmful for individuals involved and can have a negative impact on the position of all women through the objectification of women’s bodies. It is essential to separate sexual activity from exploitative sexual activity. 

We promote the pursuit of legislation which prevents and challenges demand for commercial sexual exploitation.

Therefore, we support a change in the current legislative balance of criminalisation, from prosecuting/penalising/criminalising those individuals who have been exploited in prostitution towards a challenge demand approach: penalising those who create the demand (purchasers).

We believe the law should support those involved in selling sexual activity in exiting/planning to exit prostitution.

Find out more on the old website

Next meeting


Get in touch

If you want to get in touch, you can contact Rhoda Grant MSP and Ruth Maguire MSP

Address: The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh, EH99 1SP

Phone: 0131 348 5240 Find out about call charges.

Involved in the group

MSPs, individuals and organisations who participate in and support this group.

Current Members

Grant, Rhoda

Rhoda Grant


Party: Scottish Labour

MSP for: Highlands and Islands (Region)

Maguire, Ruth

Ruth Maguire


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Cunninghame South (Constituency)

Balfour, Jeremy

Party: Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

MSP for: Lothian (Region)

Lamont, Johann

Johann Lamont


Party: Scottish Labour

MSP for: Glasgow (Region)

Mason, John

John Mason


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Glasgow Shettleston (Constituency)

McAlpine, Joan

Joan McAlpine


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: South Scotland (Region)

Wells, Annie

Annie Wells


Party: Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

MSP for: Glasgow (Region)

Non MSP Individuals

Catriona Laird
Ann Hayne
Gunilla Ekberg
Heather Russell
Steve Rawbone
Hannah Sanderson
Susan Moffat
Marlyn Glen
Teresa Little
Bryan Little
Tony Martin
Diane Robertson Martin
Billie Wealleans


ACTS - secretariat
Routes Out
Scottish Women’s Convention
LGBT Youth Scotland
The Salvation Army
Graduate Women Scotland
Women’s Equality Party
The Free To Live Trust
Scotland North Soroptimists
Nordic Model Now
Scottish Women’s Aid
Scottish Women’s Convention
European Network of Migrant Women
International Justice Mission
Community Safety Glasgow
The TARA Service
Women’s Support Project
Scottish Trade Union Congress
Soroptimist international
NHS Lothian
Zero Tolerance
UK Feminista
Space International
Evangelical Alliance
Jubilee House
Not For Sale Scotland
Build a Girl
Wise Women
Equality NowWomen for Justice