Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Science and Technology

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

07 September 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

13 December 2022

Date Annual Return Submitted

16 December 2022

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

07 September 2021

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

07 September 2021 – AGM & Climate Change Mitigating Technologies

3 MSPs and several group members in attendance to re-establish CPG for new Parliamentary session and to discuss technology being used to mitigate the impacts of Climate Change

14 December 2021 – Applying Mathematical Sciences

2 MSPs and several group members in attendance to discuss practical real-world applications for mathematical science.

13 April 2022 - David MacMillan Lecture

2 MSPs and several group members met at Dynamic Earth and attended a lecture by Nobel Laureate David MacMillan to discuss his research on asymmetric organocatalysis and its practical implications. Mr MacMillan also discussed his aspirations for promoting STEM subjects to young people.

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Clare Adamson MSP (SNP)
Brian Whittle MSP (Con)
Murdo Fraser MSP (Con)
Finlay Carson MSP (Con)
Paul O'Kane MSP (Lab)

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Mrs Kathleen Hill
	Mrs Sylvia McKay
	Dr Allan Colquhoun
	Dr Fiona McNeill Dr Kitty Meeks Professor Verena Rieser
	Mr Albert Kin

Mr Tim Hurst

Professor Derek Stewart

Professor Zoe Shipton

Professor William Sloan

Professor David Cole-Hamilton

Organisations

The Royal Society of Edinburgh

The Royal Society of Chemistry

BT Scotland

Edinburgh Mathematical Society

Fraunhofer UK

The Geological Society

Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage

Institute of Physics

James Hutton Institute

Microbiology Society

Parliamentary Science and Technology Information

Foundation

Skills Development Scotland

Physiological Society

Young Academy of Scotland

SSERC

SCDI

ScotlandIS

Wave Energy Scotland

University of Edinburgh

University of Glasgow

Primary Science Teaching Trust

Association for Science Education
British Computer Society
Technology Teachers Association
National Digital Services Team - NHS Education for Scotland
Uist Virtual Archaeology Project

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Clare Adamson (SNP)
Deputy Convener	Brian Whittle (Conservative)
Secretary	Stephanie Webb - The Royal Society of Edinburgh
Treasurer	

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

	_	
	•	
NI	•	/\
14	•	_

Convener Contact Details		
Name	Clare Adamson	
Parliamentary address	M4.10 The Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP	
Telephone number	0131 348 6377	