## **Cross-Party Group Registration Form**

## Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Outdoor Education

### **Purpose of The Group and Proposed Discussion Topics**

- 1. Please state the purpose of the Group.
- 2. Please also provide a brief explanation of the purpose of the Group and why the purpose is in the public interest.
- 3. Please also provide details of any overlaps with the purpose of existing Cross-Party Groups and an explanation of why, regardless of any such overlap, the Group should be established.
- 4. Please also provide an indication of the topics which the Group anticipates discussing in the forthcoming 12 months.
  - The Cross Party Group on Outdoor Education is a forum for debate and sharing of information on a wide range of issues affecting the outdoor education sector in Scotland, our schools and local government as they seek to provide opportunities for young people to experience outdoor education.
  - 2. It will provide an opportunity for MSPs, stakeholders, and people with an interest in matters concerning outdoor education to engage, to consider and raise awareness of the opportunities available, to provide support to our outdoor education sector as well as addressing the challenges facing them.
  - 3. There is currently no equivalent group in the Scottish Parliament.
  - 4. It will examine in particular the scope for wider opportunities in residential outdoor education and partnerships with outdoor education centres, schools and local authorities.

### **MSP Members of the Group**

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Liz Smith MSP (Scottish Conservatives)

Daniel Johnson MSP (Scottish Labour)

Fulton MacGregor MSP (Scottish National Party)

Brian Whittle MSP (Scottish Conservatives)

Rachael Hamilton MSP (Scottish Conservatives)

Beatrice Wishart MSP (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Mark Ruskell (Scottish Greens)

**Group Office Bearers** 

# **Non-MSP Members of the Group**

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

organication at moduligo of the Group.		
Individuals	Keir Bloomer	
	Mike Harvey	
	Rob Bushby	
Organisations	Duke of Edinburgh Award	
	Education Scotland	
	Scottish Advisory Panel for Outdoor Education (SAPOE)	
	Youthlink	
	The Association of Heads of Outdoor Education Centres (AHOEC)	
	City of Edinburgh Council	
	Scottish Adventure Activities Forum (SAAF)	
	John Muir Trust	
	Ardentinny	
	Ocean Youth Trust Scotland	
	Scottish Outdoor Education Centres	
	The Outward Bound Trust	
	Rock UK	
	Craikhope Outdoor Centre	
	Scouts Scotland	
	Field Studies Council Scotland	

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Liz Smith MSP (Scottish Conservatives)
Deputy Convener	Daniel Johnson MSP (Scottish Labour)
Secretary	Scouts Scotland and Field Studies Council
Treasurer	N/A

### **Financial Benefits or Other Benefits**

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

N/A

## **Subscription Charged by the Group**

Please provide details of the amount to be charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

N/A

### **Convener Contact Details**

Name	Liz Smith MSP
Parliamentary address	M2.16
	Scottish Parliament
	EH99 1SP
Telephone number	0131 348 6762

Statement on Compliance with The Code Of Conduct		
I declare that the Cross-Party Group on Outdoor Education is constituted and will comply with the terms of Section 6 of the Code of Conduct for Members of the Scottish Parliament.		
Signed	Elizabeth J. Smith	
Date	8 October 2021	