# **Cross-Party Group on MS**

# 31/10/21; 13:00-14:15

### Minutes

### Present

#### MSPs

David Torrance (Co-Convener, Chairing meeting) Donald Cameron (Co-Convener) Katy Clark (CPG Member) Liam McArthur (CPG Member) Paul McLennan (CPG Member) Carol Mochan (CPG Member) (Attended later in meeting)

#### Invited guests

N/A

#### Non-MSP Group Members

Mark Bevan (Leuchie House) Hannah Evans (Merck) Dr David Hunt (NHS Lothian) Angela McCormack (MS Society Scotland) Thomas Mulvey (MS Society Scotland) Paru Maik (MS Trust) Keith Park (MS Society Scotland) Cassie Paterson (MS Society Scotland) Elizabeth Quigley Chrissie Watters (Scottish MS Register) Steven Tait (MS Society Scotland)

# Apologies

N/A

# Agenda item 1

#### Welcome and Purpose of Meeting

David Torrance MSP welcomed everyone to the meeting and passed over to Keith Park MS Society to explain that the meeting was being held to formally re-register the CPG and elect office bearers.

The CPG formally acknowledged that George Adam MSP had stood down as convenor as a result of becoming a Government minister. The group took this opportunity to record their thanks to George for all the work and support he had undertaken on behalf of the MS community.

The Group also noted their thanks to John Finnie and Neil Findlay for their support and involvement in the CPG following their decisions not to stand for election during in May.

The attendees also formally agreed the registered purpose of the CPG.

# Agenda item 2

#### **Election Of Office Bearers**

Keith Park, MS Society formally took the Chair for the election of office bearers.

Donald Cameron MSP proposed David Torrance MSP as Co-Convenor. This was seconded by Katy Clark MSP.

David Torrance MSP proposed Donald Cameron MSP as Co-Convenor. This was seconded by Liam McArthur MSP.

Donald Cameron MSP and David Torrance MSP were duly elected as Co-Convenors.

David Torrance MSP took over the Chair.

# Agenda item 3

#### Membership

David Torrance MSP asked Keith Park, MS Society, to confirm the MSP membership of the group.

Full list of CPG MSP members is as follows (alphabetically): Clare Adamson, Donald Cameron, Katy Clark, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Liam McArthur, Paul McLennan, Carol Mochan, David Torrance and Beatrice Wishart.

### Agenda item 4

#### 1. Secretariat

David Torrance MSP asked Keith Park, MS Society, to confirm if the MS Society would continue as secretariat.

This was agreed.

# Agenda item 5

#### Non MSP Membership

It was agreed that the Group would accept existing external organisations as members and notes that the secretariat will maintain a list of formal members including Health and Social Care Professionals, people living with MS. The Group will also invite others with an interest in MS to attend and contribute to the CPG as required.

# Agenda item 6

The plan for future meetings was outlined.

- Planned timings & location: 3 evening meetings, 1 afternoon meeting. 3 remote meetings, 1 meeting in parliament.
- Planned Format of future meetings: There will be a welcome, main meeting section and action points section.

CPG policy priorities: MS & Neurological Care Services; National Care Service; Adult Disability Payment