## **Cross-Party Group Registration Form**

## **Name of Cross-Party Group**

Cross-Party Group on MALAWI

## **Purpose of The Group and Proposed Discussion Topics**

- 1. Please state the purpose of the Group.
- 2. Please also provide a brief explanation of the purpose of the Group and why the purpose is in the public interest.
- 3. Please also provide details of any overlaps with the purpose of existing Cross-Party Groups and an explanation of why, regardless of any such overlap, the Group should be established.
- 4. Please also provide an indication of the topics which the Group anticipates discussing in the forthcoming 12 months.
  - The purpose of the group is to develop and enhance links between Scotland and Malawi and to provide a forum for discussion on these matters.
  - 2. Scotland and Malawi have a longstanding relationship which dates back over 160 years to the time of Dr David Livingstone. Today, many people from all walks of life in Scotland are involved in respectful links with Malawi which benefit both nations. The Scottish Government funds work between the two nations, Malawi being one of Scotland's Partner Countries in its International Development Strategy. A University of Edinburgh study of 2018 found that members of the Scottish-Government-funded Scotland Malawi Partnership (SMP) represent a community of more than 109,000 Scots and 208,000 Malawians, working actively in partnership together each year.

SMP members contribute more than £49 million of activity to their links with Malawi each year.

The work done by members of the SMP benefits BOTH Malawi and Scotland. Each year more than 304,000 Scots and 8.5 million Malawians benefit from this activity.

- 3. The CPG on International Development may at times include consideration of Malawi but due to the depth and breadth of Scotland's vibrant links with Malawi, its being a partner country in the Scottish Government's International Development Strategy, with strong cross-party support in Holyrood, Malawi continues to warrant its own CPG.
- 4. Governance in Malawi; COP-26 & Climate Change; the visit to Scotland of H.E The President of Malawi Dr Lazarus Chakwera; the work of Scottish Government-funded projects in Malawi; Collaboration and the impact of Scotland Malawi Partnership members; Malawi & COVID-19; Health; WASH; Further & Higher Education; Agriculture & Food Security; Renewables; Youth & Schools.

## **MSP Members of the Group**

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Liam McArthur MSP (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Alexander Stewart MSP (Scottish Conservatives)

Dr Alasdair Allan MSP (Scottish National Party)

Sarah Boyack MSP (Scottish Labour Party)

Mark Ruskell MSP (Scottish Green Party)

Rhoda Grant MSP (Scottish Labour)

Colin Smyth (Scottish Labour)

Fiona Hyslop (Scottish National Party)

Foysol Choudhury (Scottish Labour)

Jenni Minto (Scottish National Party)

Stuart McMillan MSP (Scottish National Party)

Stephanie Callaghan (Scottish National Party)

## **Non-MSP Members of the Group**

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals Prof Heather Cubie

Susan Dalgety

Brian Kerr

**Evie Murray** 

Prof Tim Eden

Towera Munthali

**Douglas Blackwood** 

David Alsop

Jailos Mapeza

Iain Fulton

Sheena Nicolson

Una Nicolson

Rosemary Harrison

Prof Robert M Kalin

Mark Parsons

Pam Wilson

Fletcher Matandika

Joyce Juma-Phiri

**Prof Paul Garside** 

Giles Henley

Lameck Chirwa

Dr Antonia Ho

Alan Laverock

Dr Tracy Morse

**Eve Broadis** 

Anne Brown

Graham Kenala

Willies Mwandira

Jenifer Barrett

Ian Mitchell

Archie Marshall

Sarah Black

Helen Wright

Penny Hardie

Prof Iain Woodhouse

Helen Mein

**Thomson Chirwa** 

Moira Dunworth

Sally Rae

Kate McLaughlin

Raymond French

Katie Allan

**Anthony Andrew** 

Jim Atken

**Enock Bamusi** 

Caroline Beck

Sandra Black

Anna Boni

Colin Cameron

Patrick Carrigan

Douglas Clarke

Robert Cleghorn

**Daniel Cosgrove** 

Hatty Cumber

**Ashley Douglas** 

Moira Dunworth

Brian Ferguson

Carol Finlay

Claire Footit

Jane Forster

Dr Lore Gallastegi

Jane Gebbie

**Grant Gebbie** 

**Bob Garrow** 

**Dermot Gorman** 

Maureen Gowans

Nigel Harper

Eileen Henderson

Lucy Hensher

**Chrissie Hirst** 

Paul Johnson

Webster Kameme

Andy Kerr

**David Knox** 

Crispin Longden

HazelMacIver

Mitchell Manson

Grace Manyika

Angus McLeod

Alison O'Connell

Siobhan O'Connor

**David Osborne** 

Lillian Owiti

Joyce Phiri

Cat Rawlinson-Watkins

Francesca Roberts

DenisRobson

**David Somervell** 

Dr Peter West

Amy Westerndarp

Ben Wilson

Adah Younger

Stuart Brown

## Organisations

**CBM UK** 

Celsius Jompy

Church of Scotland

Edinburgh Malawi Cancer Partnership

Edinburgh Napier University

**Education Scotland** 

**EMMS International** 

Footit by Design

Friends of Mulanje Orphans (FOMO)

**GALVmed** 

Hon Consul Malawi

Leprosy at Utale Village

Link Community Development

Mamie Martin Fund

Open University Scotland

R.S. Garrow Ltd
RCS Edinburgh
Scotland Malawi Partnership
Scottish Community Climate Action
Sense Scotland
St Andrews University
Strathclyde University
Tear Fund
The Global Concerns Trust
Turing Trust
UNICEF
University of Glasgow

# **Group Office Bearers**

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Liam McArthur MSP (Scottish Liberal Democrats)  Alexander Stewart MSP (Scottish Conservatives)	
	,	
	Dr Alasdair Allan MSP (Scottish National Party)	
Deputy Convener	Sarah Boyack MSP (Scottish Labour Party)	
	Mark Ruskell MSP (Scottish Green Party)	
Secretary	David Hope-Jones	
Treasurer	None	
Financial Benefits or Other Benefits		

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

None

## **Subscription Charged by the Group**

Please provide details of the amount to be charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

None

#### **Convener Contact Details**

Name	Liam McArthur MSP	
Parliamentary address	14 Palace Road, Kirkwall, Orkney KW15 1PA	
Telephone number	01856 876541	

# **Statement on Compliance with The Code Of Conduct**

I declare that the Cross-Party Group on <SUBJECT> is constituted and will comply with the terms of Section 6 of the Code of Conduct for Members of the Scottish Parliament.

Signed	
Date	29/10/21