Cross-Party Group Registration Form

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Culture and Communities

Purpose of The Group and Proposed Discussion Topics

- 1. Please state the purpose of the Group.
- 2. Please also provide a brief explanation of the purpose of the Group and why the purpose is in the public interest.
- 3. Please also provide details of any overlaps with the purpose of existing Cross-Party Groups and an explanation of why, regardless of any such overlap, the Group should be established.
- 4. Please also provide an indication of the topics which the Group anticipates discussing in the forthcoming 12 months.

Group Purpose

To encourage the exchange of knowledge and understanding between the Scottish Parliament and arts, culture, heritage, and historic environment communities.

The group has a focus on widening access and highlights the social impact of the sector.

Public Interest

It is in the public interest to work together to highlight the value of the culture sector and to protect the eco-system of the arts, heritage, culture and historic environment for the common good.

Overlaps

The Cross-Party Group on Culture and Communities will focus on the impact of the public sector, for example the social, health and educational impact of access and participation in the arts, heritage, libraries and museums. Whereas the Creative Economy Group will focus on for example industrial support, entrepreneurship, economics, investment, private sector, international working.

Indication of Topics

The group may consider topics such as place; planning; sector sustainability; access and participation; infrastructure and future generations.

MSP Members of the Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Conservative:

Sue Webber MSP

Labour:

Sarah Boyack MSP

Michael Marra MSP

Claire Baker MSP

Foysol Choudhury MSP

SNP:

Clare Adamson MSP

Jenni Minto MSP

Non-MSP Members of the Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

| Individuals | Bryan Beattie |
|-------------|---------------|
| | Laura Black |
| | Matt Brennan |
| | Steve Byrne |
| | John Cairns |
| | Jean Cameron |
| | Amanda Catto |

Rebecca Finkel Chantal Guevara Donna Heddle Jane Humphries Yvette Jelfs Kirsty Keay Ariel Killick Ullrich Kockel Orchid Liu Jen McGregor Lyndsey McLean David Nicholson Brian Ó hEadhra Emma Jayne Park Francis Shennan David Stevenson Archippus Sturrock Jean Urguhart Matthew Whiteside **Grant Williams** Art 27 Organisations **Artlink Central** Carey Tourism CollinsandGoto Studio Community Archives Heritage Group Scotland Network Community Leisure UK Creative & Cultural Skills Creative Scotland **Culture Collective Cutting Edge Theatre Dumfries & Galloway Arts Festival Dundee Contemporary Arts** Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Edinburgh International Festival **Engage Scotland**

Festivals Edinburgh

Historic Environment Scotland

Horsecross Arts (Perth Theatre & Concert Hall)

Industrial Museums Scotland

Live Music Now Scotland

Making Music

Museums Galleries Scotland

National Trust for Scotland

Nevis Ensemble

Newcastle University, Live Music Exchange

One Dance UK

OnFife

Queen Margaret University

Rothesay Pavilion

Royal Society of Edinburgh

Scene Stirling (Place Partnership)

Scottish Artists Union

Scottish Council on Archives

Scottish Opera

SENScot

Skills Development Scotland

The Scottish Stained-Glass Trust

The Village Storytelling Centre

Traditional Music Forum

Tricky Hat Productions

UK Theatre

Vocal

WHALE Arts

Youth Theatre Arts Scotland

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have

more than one individual elected to each office, for example, coconveners or multiple deputy conveners.

| Convener | Sarah Boyack MSP (Labour) |
|--------------------|----------------------------------|
| Deputy Convener | Sue Webber MSP (Conservative) |
| Secretary | Jennifer Hunter (Culture Counts) |
| Treasurer | N/A |

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

Culture Counts (secretariat) is a project hosted by the Federation of Scottish Theatre. The project receives funding from Creative Scotland and from membership subscriptions from members across culture and creative industries, to undertake the work of the Culture Counts project.

Funding allocated to Culture Counts which will be assigned to this Cross-Party Group in 2021/22 is approximately £1495.00. This includes staff time, artists fees, speakers' fees, room hire and refreshments.

Subscription Charged by the Group

Please provide details of the amount to be charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

| Ν | വ | n | e |
|---|---|---|---|
| | | | |

Convener Contact Details

| Name | Sarah Boyack MSP |
|------|------------------|

| Parliamentary address | The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh, EH99 1SP |
|-----------------------|--|
| Telephone number | 0131 348 6994 |

Statement on Compliance with The Code Of Conduct

I declare that the Cross-Party Group on <SUBJECT> is constituted and will comply with the terms of Section 6 of the Code of Conduct for Members of the Scottish Parliament.

| Signed | South Boyande |
|--------|---------------|
| Date | 21.09.2021 |