Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Co-operatives

Date Group Established

6 October 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

2 November 2022

Date Annual Return Submitted

01 December 2022

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

6 October 2021 (Initial meeting of CPG post-election)

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

6 October 2021 Agenda: Re-establishment of CPG post-election MSP attendees: 7

24 January 2022

Agenda: The CPG heard evidence from three Scottish co-ops on the support they might need to achieve their growth aspirations. **MSP attendees:** 3

Non-MSP attendees: 10

7 March 2022

Agenda: The CPG discussed policy relating to housing co-operatives including a Scottish Government consultation on Land and Building Transaction Tax. The CPG also received a presentation on a Welsh-government-funded programme to support people to set up housing co-operatives.

MSP attendees: 5 Non-MSP attendees: 8

2 November 2022 Agenda: Following AGM business the CPG received presentations and held a discussion on co-operative solutions for home energy saving and retrofit.

MSP attendees: 4 Non-MSP attendees: 9

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Sue Webber, Conservative

Paul Sweeney, Labour and Co-operative

Sarah Boyack, Labour and Co-operative

Monica Lennon, Labour and Co-operative

Claire Baker, Labour and Co-operative

Foysol Choudhury, Labour

Paul O'Kane, Labour and Co-operative

Colin Smyth, Labour and Co-operative

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Carol G Boden, Darah Zahran, Duncan Thorp, James Booth, Louise Scott, Lucinda Broadbent, Richard McCready, Steve West, Garreth Roberts, David Somervell, Katie Little, Chris Cowcher, James Baster, Jaye Martin, Suzanne Orchard, Gillian Kirton, Jack Lord, Martin Meteyard, Stephen Kelly, Ruth Hall, James Proctor, Katharine McCrossan, Stephen Gill, Andy Maybury, Fasil Bogale, John Dalley, Pat Scrutton, Anne Thomson, Dr Andrea Tonner
Organisations	Co-operatives UK, Greencity Wholefoods, VME Co-op

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Paul Sweeney MSP
Deputy Convener	Claire Baker MSP
Secretary	James Wright, Co-operatives UK
Treasurer	N/A

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more

than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

Co-operatives UK will provide secretariat for the CPG. This support is valued at c£1,345 of Co-operatives UK's staffing costs for c12 days of officer time a year.

Convener Contact Details

Name	Paul Sweeney MSP
Parliamentary address	Paul.Sweeney.msp@parliament.scot The Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP
Telephone number	<u>0131 348 6388</u>